Giant forks and mini desserts in Switzerland

Sometimes it’s easy to forget that you’ve crossed the border from France into Switzerland because everyone is still speaking French, but then you realize that everything is cleaner and more expensive.

When Americans describe Switzerland, it’s usually with words like “breathtaking,” “pristine,” and “chocolate.” When the French talk about Switzerland, it usually goes something like “Putain c’est cher la Suisse.” (“#$%& Switzerland is expensive.”)

I don’t get to Switzerland often because I’m too busy eating falafel in Lyon, but I went to a Franco-Swiss wedding last week and you know what? Switzerland is really nice. (Don’t tell France I said so.)

Here are a few snapshots from the weekend:

Vevey fork

They’ve plunged a giant fork into their lake, and I’m not sure what that’s about….

Vevey lake

But when you ignore the behemoth cutlery, it’s lovely. (Can I use behemoth as an adjective? I say yes.)

Vevey balloons

Releasing balloons into the air seems like the kind of thing that would be against the law in Switzerland, but it made for a nice photo op.

Vevey sun

Later, the sun went down (as it does most days) and it looked something like this:

Vevey sunset

It was even more beautiful in real life.  I ran to the lakeside in heels flailing my iPhone.

Vevey dessert

Then, I ate all the desserts available. Except the fruit salad.

Vevey sunrise

The next morning, I woke up just in time for a Swiss sunrise. (And then I went back to sleep like a normal person.)

I’m not including photos of the wedding (except desserts because rules don’t apply to dessert) because it’s not my day to share on the internet, but it was beautiful enough to go viral on Pinterest. Highlights included mustache tattoos, modern-day polaroids, and best of all, blueberry muffins at brunch the next morning prepared by the groom himself! I tried to capture it all with a real camera, but those things are way too complicated and heavy and apparently you’re supposed to decide between blurry photos and blinding people with that flash that pops up like a jack in the box, so I went back to my iPhone.

The bride and groom were kind enough to send us home with Swiss wine. Yes, did you know Switzerland made wine?

Vevey vineyards 2

 See? Serious vines. Even ze French were impressed.

Have you been to Switzerland? Was it beautiful? Did you cry when you got the bill for anything? 

7 thoughts on “Giant forks and mini desserts in Switzerland

    1. Haha! When I went to Geneva, I didn’t know what to do besides just walk around because everything was so expensive! I hear it’s a nice place to live though 🙂

      1. hahahaha I know, when I lived there I barely ate in restaurants or went shopping!
        About living there… I honestly didnt like much, but its a very pretty place to visit, no doubt 😀

  1. Love your little jaunt to pricy but pristine Switzerland. I have been there; loved every minute of it, and could tell instantly when the Eurail crossed borders because Switzerland homes and window flower boxes were far and away the best maintained!

    But Paris and the Loire Valley still are #1 in my heart 🙂

    1. Glad to hear France is still your favorite 🙂 I’ve never taken the train in Switzerland but I’ve heard that their trains are amazing. What a cool way to travel through the beautiful countryside!

Be awesome, leave a comment